The People of Eastside Yoga – Barbara Chiles

barbara

Barbara joins the 400 Club at ESY

THIS IS OUR FIRST OF MORE TO COME:  stories and thoughts from the people who make Eastside Yoga a living, breathing community, where people of all types are free to practice the tradition of yoga …

My first class at Eastside Yoga was July 4, 2012.   It was gentle yoga, and as it turned out I was the only student and Steven was the teacher.  I tried to convince Steven to cancel the class, since I was the only student, an introvert and didn’t know much about yoga.  He insisted we stay and proceeded to coach me through my only private yoga class.  It’s a good thing we stayed because much to my surprise 17 months later I had achieved 400 classes and was added to the “400 Club” board.

‘I tried to convince Steven to cancel the class, since I was the only student, an introvert and didn’t know much about yoga.’

Eastside Yoga has been like my second home at times.  As life brought stress, the teachers at Eastside helped me breathe through it.  Two years into yoga my chiropractor commented I was energetically a different person.  I attribute a lot of that difference to my work with yoga.  I love the variety of classes.  If I feel like being pushed, a vinyasa class is on the schedule.  If I need to reflect and stretch, Yin is on the schedule.  If I have an injury, Gentle Hatha is the right class.  The teachers fold experience, kindness and compassion into each class.  I love and appreciate each one of the teachers at Eastside Yoga.

I recently convinced a friend who was starting yoga to help with work stress (we are both school teachers) at the yoga studio closest to her house — to come try ESY.  She quickly experienced the community of Eastside Yoga.  She will be to 400 classes before she knows it!

I appreciate ESY’s support of yoga in local schools.  Nine years ago yoga would not have been considered in Austin schools.  Now, it’s becoming an option to consider.  That’s progress!

It has been inspiring watching Steven and Elsa create their dream, a spiritual community where people and come together for support.   Thank you Elsa and Steven.  I’m grateful to have Eastside Yoga in my life.

Barbara Chiles

ESY Member

‘Nine years ago yoga would not have been considered in Austin schools.  Now, it’s becoming an option to consider.  That’s progress!’

About eastsideyoga

your neighborhood yoga studio! with our warm welcome, peaceful vibe and experienced yoga teachers, we aim to transform the body and bring stillness to your mind through the timeless teaching of yoga. eastside yoga is a friendly community of people who love yoga and meditation. we strive to nurture beginners and help deepen your yoga practice. our yoga studio and class schedule are convenient for residents of the east side and downtown austin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

