Teacher Interview with Jenn Coats

0de1dc8Jenn is a certified E-RYT yoga instructor with over 3000 hours of teaching experience.
Jenn began her yoga practice in 2002 as a way to physically heal her body from multiple injuries. It was during this time she noticed the positive effects yoga had on her mind and emotional wellbeing. Her experience with the profound healing quality of yoga inspired her to become a teacher and share yoga with others.

While Jenn has studied various forms of yoga, her heart and passion lies with the vinyasa tradition in which the breath, body and mind can meld in moving meditation. Jenn’s classes are mindful, slow flow, alignment based, uniquely sequenced, playfully challenging, and specifically tailored to the needs of her students. She encourages her students to explore their possibilities while offering a welcoming environment.

Jenn teaches Sunrise Flow every Monday and Wednesday from 6:30 – 7:45 am. Be sure to drop in one of her classes!

1) Where did you complete your training?

I completed my 200-hour training through YogaWorks’ residential intensive in Bali where I was the teaching assistance.

2) Describe your first experience with yoga.

I remember my first yoga experience vividly. It was one day long ago when my ballet instructor looked at me after class, and with a certain wisdom in her eyes said, “You should come to my yoga class.” I had great respect for this woman, so I did. Looking back, my first yoga class was nothing like the vigorous vinyasa classes we see so abundantly today. It was meditative and calm, but also challenging. I could not get remotely close to full Gomukhasana (I was astounded this was humanly possible) and balancing in Tree Pose was a real struggle. I can’t say I was sold with the whole yoga experience right away, but I could not get over how I felt after class walking back to my car. I was taller, lighter, centered, and at ease. At a time in my life when I was chronically stressed and angry, the calming affects of that first class brought me back, and back again.

3) How would you describe vinyasa yoga to someone who has never taken a class before?

Breath with movement. Meaning the breath comes first, movement secondary. When this happens, breath and body meld in a moving meditation.

4) What is your favorite pose and why?

My favorite pose has shifted over the years. First it was pigeon, then for a long time it I couldn’t get enough of wild thing. At the moment I’m really digging Fish Pose. It’s a great heart opener and a perfect posture this time of year to help keep ailments at bay!

5) What do you like to do when you are not teaching yoga?

I believe in balance. For me, that means learning and growing in multiple ways and enjoying the fullness that life has to offer (as cliche as that may sound). In addition to practicing yoga, I take cello lessons, practice archery, and recently started dancing again. I’m also a foodie and lover of wine (last year I received my level one Sommelier certification), so you can probably catch me around Austin checking out the latest culinary hot spots.

6) What do you like the most about Eastside Yoga?

I love the vibe of Eastside Yoga. It is unlike any other in Austin. ESY is real, authentic, and offers pure yoga without the unnecessary bells and whistles. Because of this, I often leave ESY inspired – by both students and staff – to be a better person.

About eastsideyoga

your neighborhood yoga studio! with our warm welcome, peaceful vibe and experienced yoga teachers, we aim to transform the body and bring stillness to your mind through the timeless teaching of yoga. eastside yoga is a friendly community of people who love yoga and meditation. we strive to nurture beginners and help deepen your yoga practice. our yoga studio and class schedule are convenient for residents of the east side and downtown austin.
This entry was posted in Meet the Teachers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

