Teacher Interview with Karlie Lemos

Please welcome Karlie Lemos to the EastSide Yoga Community! Karlie first discovered her yoga practice in 1998 and completed her 200 hour Hatha teacher training in 2005. Karlie went on to complete her 500 hour certification at the San Marcos School of Yoga, under the guidance of Christina Sell. Karlie focuses heavily on alignment and form and her classes are strong and challenging as well as balanced and well rounded. She is inspired by the deep well of yoga philosophy teachings and threads these perspectives into her asana classes. Expect to have fun, work hard and learn something new about yourself or the practice!

Karlie teaches Hatha Flow every Monday and Wednesday from 4:30 – 5:45 pm. Be sure to check out her class!

1) Describe your first experience with yoga. 

My first experience with yoga was in 1998 at a YMCA. There was only 1 yoga class on the schedule and I wasn’t certain what yoga was but I was curious. I had a lot of anxiety and some un-diagnosed emotional trauma at that time of my life so sitting still was not my thing! I took the class and enjoyed the movement but the end of class was what really hooked me. There I was sitting in stillness and not eager to jump out of my skin  but on the contrary calm, composed and relaxed. This experience was entirely new to me and I left the class intrigued to know more about this yoga stuff!

2) What is your favorite pose and why? 

Though my favorite pose can sometimes be fluid depending on where I’m at in my practice and what my body needs I usually refer to malasana (the yogi squat) as my favorite asana. I’m an earthy girl so I love being that close to the ground while simultaneously feeling rooted into it through my feet and grounded and stable.

3) Your biography states that you are deeply inspired by yogic philosophy and often incorporate these teachings into your classes. What book do you find yourself returning to frequently? 

Patanjali’s yoga sutras are so deep and so rich I’m always circling back around to them and integrating new insights and memorizing tidbits to share in my classes. I feel one could easily spend a lifetime with that 1 book alone.

One question I’m always asking myself is “How can I live alongside my soul in my daily life?” I’m consistently  working with ways to integrate and not compartmentalize my spiritual practices. Two books I recommend for these kinds of reflections which are more practical (the latter of which offers mediation inquiries) are “Bringing Yoga to Life” by Donna Farhi and “A Path With Heart” by Jack Kornfield.

4) What do you like to do when you are not teaching yoga?

When I’m not teaching or practicing yoga I like to read and journal. I like being outdoors: walking, cycling, or swimming. I like movies and am passionate about music; I don’t play much but I love live music. I like to cook when I have the energy for it and I play and perform in improvised theater (a.k.a. “improv comedy”). I also love to travel when I”m able.

5) What do you like the most about Eastside Yoga?

I’m still relatively new to ESY but what strikes me is the warm feeling of the energy and community. It feels small in a large sized city. I love that Steven is so involved and present. I look forward to getting to know students better but my first impression of students at ESY is that they’re receptive and not interested in practicing from a place of ego. This is lovely!
About eastsideyoga

your neighborhood yoga studio! with our warm welcome, peaceful vibe and experienced yoga teachers, we aim to transform the body and bring stillness to your mind through the timeless teaching of yoga. eastside yoga is a friendly community of people who love yoga and meditation. we strive to nurture beginners and help deepen your yoga practice. our yoga studio and class schedule are convenient for residents of the east side and downtown austin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

