Gratitude

Hi community!

For those of you who attended my stress management workshop last weekend, thanks so much for sharing space and energy with me.  It was always a goal of mine to lead a workshop, so I’m really grateful that my first one with met with so much kindness and good attendance (19 people including Steven’s mom!)

Stress is such an important topic, considering that we are all faced with some form of it whether it be interpersonal, job related or just due to the minor inconveniences we face as human beings.  One thing I have learned in my own journey toward understanding the experience of stress is that I can actively make a choice whether I indulge in it or let it go.  If I indulge in the feelings associated with stress; panic, fear, anxiety etc.  I might curl up into a ball in the corner and give up.  If I choose to let it go, I take a moment to deepen my breath and to notice my surroundings.  

Those that attended had such beautiful things to say about their own experiences with stress.  It turns out that we all have a lot in common.  We know for a fact that stressful situations are going to come up in life no matter what.  Even if we are yoga teachers or avid meditators or drink tea everyday at the top of a mountain.  There’s bound to be stress.  We can’t change that.  What we can change is our internal experience.  Pranayama and Asana practice are great allies to shift the fight or flight response to a more calm and even existence.  It is possible to do this.

I used to deal with painstaking anxiety. Panic attacks, accelerated heart rate, and racing thoughts.  It was very difficult to make even the smallest decision under these circumstances.  I have learned through the incredible gift of yoga that there is a way to change this.  It might not be perfect.  I still get flustered when an unexpected bill comes in the mail or if my car has troubles but I know now that I have this great tool to rely on and the knowledge that I can get off the hamster wheel of fear, doubt and anxiety.

We plan to have more of these workshops in the future and so I hope you will consider coming if you were unable to attend this last time.  It’s a great learning experience for all of us.

Also, please join me for an additional yin flow class on Friday evenings at 6 PM.  What a great way to end your week and salute the weekend.  

Deep breaths,

Brooke

 

 

  

About eastsideyoga

your neighborhood yoga studio! with our warm welcome, peaceful vibe and experienced yoga teachers, we aim to transform the body and bring stillness to your mind through the timeless teaching of yoga. eastside yoga is a friendly community of people who love yoga and meditation. we strive to nurture beginners and help deepen your yoga practice. our yoga studio and class schedule are convenient for residents of the east side and downtown austin.
This entry was posted in Brooke Binstock and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

