Meet the Teachers: Molly Jones

I would be surprised if you haven’t seen Molly in the studio and we all want her around! She loves teaching beginners but anyone should try out her Monday gentle yoga class at 6pm!

* What first captivated you about yoga?

I first tried yoga after an injury and was surprised how great my body felt.  I then started to notice how it touched other aspects of my life.  I was more relaxed, dealt better with stress and left every class with a big smile on my face.

* After that initial connection to yoga, what inspired you to dedicate your time to teaching?

I practiced for many years before deciding to go to teacher training.  I had been working in a hugh stress industry and it was starting to take a toll on my mind and body.  I decided that it was a sign that I needed to make a big change.  If I could do something that I love, I knew my life would change for the better.

* If your students left your class having learned one vital piece of information, what do you hope that would be?

That practicing yoga is work and you should be patient with yourself and not to give up.  

* What do you enjoy about teaching beginners?

I love working with beginners.  It’s amazing to see people enjoy something and realize that yes, they too can do yoga.  

* Could you explain Savasana and why do we practice it at the end of class?

Savasana is the most important asana in my opinion.  It is a chance to let go and let your body and mind relax after the practice.  Of course sometimes, it’s a way to sneak in a nap.   

* If you had a free day here in Austin to do whatever you want, what would it be?

There are so many options everyday in this city.  I would love to start out with a kayak trip on the lake in the morning with my husband and then head to one of our favorite breakfast spots like Bouldin Creek. We would head to maybe Book People or Waterloo Records and spend some time looking through the books and CDs and then of course, end the day listening to some great local music with friends.

* What do you like most about East Side Yoga?

There is just such a great friendly and family vibe there.  The light coming in though the windows makes every class full of energy.  Steven and Elsa always make you feel welcome and that they are so appreciative to share the gift of yoga with everyone who comes throughout the door.

About eastsideyoga

your neighborhood yoga studio! with our warm welcome, peaceful vibe and experienced yoga teachers, we aim to transform the body and bring stillness to your mind through the timeless teaching of yoga. eastside yoga is a friendly community of people who love yoga and meditation. we strive to nurture beginners and help deepen your yoga practice. our yoga studio and class schedule are convenient for residents of the east side and downtown austin.
This entry was posted in Meet the Teachers, Molly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

