Meet the Teachers: Kate Bero

Here’s our newest addition to the east side family. Kate teaches Yoga for Athletes at 2pm on Sundays, which is our donation day 🙂 Sunday’s have some banger classes as well as a group meditation at 9am. If you haven’t stopped by you’re missing out!

thanks kate!

What first brought you to yoga?

For me the question is actually who first brought me to yoga. My dad. I attended my first yoga class with my dad at the YMCA  in Appleton, WI (where I grew up). I honestly cant remember whose idea it was to go, but Im very grateful I went. It has been over eight years now and it has been an amazing journey.

How has your practice changed since your first few classes?

Wow, in so many ways. My practice began as mostly a way to compliment other physical activities. I was definitely drawn in by the physical aspects of yoga. As I entered college, my practice became a vehicle to help manage stress. Now I feel like my practice is broader, deeper, and more whole. 

Over the years my practice has slowed and expanded. Although I still love a good vinyasa class, I now lean towards a slower, contemplative practice. I love the opportunity to sit in a stretch giving my body time to tell me a story. When we move slowly though our practice we allow time to really drop into the experience. It becomes much deeper, there is more connection between the mind, body and spirit. I still enjoy the physical benefits and yoga still helps me control stress, but it is much more than that now. It is a practice that started on the mat and is now something I live in all areas of my life. There are a million ways to practice yoga: sending loving kindness to people you see walking by on the street, dropping into your breath, taking time to enjoy your morning coffee or tea, sitting in stillness taking time to open your senses to your surroundings……. 

When did you decide to dedicate your practice to teaching and why?

I have been teaching now for just over a year. Everything about teaching feels right. I receive so much from sharing yoga with students. It is an honor and an inspiration to hold space as students explore their bodies and minds through the practice of yoga. I love watching the progression as people fall deeper into their practice. I teach because I love it.

How does the focus of a Yoga for Athletes class differ from any other class?

I see this class as an opportunity for athletes to learn skills they can take with them and incorporate into their every day, active lives. I focus on deep, engaged stretching paired with slow transitions as we move from pose to pose. I always take requests. If there is an area of your body that needs some addition love and attention, let me know, and we will spend some time with it.

Do you have a favorite pose or sequence to teach in Yoga for Athletes?

Anything that opens the hips and hamstrings.

What is your most satisfying pose to practice?

That is a tough question. Probably Savasana (Corpse Pose). It is one of the most challenging poses for me. It is difficult to find the balance between awareness and surrender. Sometimes I fall asleep, too much surrender, and sometimes I cant seem to let go, not enough surrender. But after a long practice, there is nothing more satisfying than a peaceful Savasana. It is where everything from the practice comes together.

 What do you love most about East Side Yoga?

The energy in the space. There is great, vibrant, healing energy at the studio. You can feel it when you enter the door!

About eastsideyoga

your neighborhood yoga studio! with our warm welcome, peaceful vibe and experienced yoga teachers, we aim to transform the body and bring stillness to your mind through the timeless teaching of yoga. eastside yoga is a friendly community of people who love yoga and meditation. we strive to nurture beginners and help deepen your yoga practice. our yoga studio and class schedule are convenient for residents of the east side and downtown austin.
This entry was posted in Kate, Meet the Teachers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

